Intel’s news source for media, analysts and everyone curious about the company.

Intel selects latest set of Women in Technology scholars  

Intel Ireland unveils the latest recipients of the Women in Technology scholarships

Sarah Caffrey, Mariia Skyba, Saoirse Ward and Darerca Kane

15 years ago Intel in Ireland launched its Women in Technology scholarship program for the first time. Since then, the program has gone from strength to strength and continues today to form an important part of our wider commitment to advancing diversity and inclusion at every level of our company and the broader industry.

The scholarship program aims to encourage a new generation of high-achieving women to take up the challenge of a career in science and technology and to empower them by fostering educational opportunities.

The scholarship program offers a monetary grant, valued at €3,000 per annum, as well as opportunities for work placements at the Intel Leixlip and Shannon campus’. Each scholar is also assigned a mentor who is an Intel employee to assist and provide advice on managing their academic career.

Eimear McDonnell, Heejin Yoon, Emil Metadjer and Prabhjot Kaur

In recent years Intel Ireland has driven a unique approach to academic partnership through our Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) program. We work closely with our partners – Trinity College Dublin, University College Dublin, Dublin City University, Technological University Dublin, University of Limerick and Maynooth University – as well as with other universities and Institutes of Technology across Ireland to share details of this initiative and identify suitable candidates for the scholarship program.

This year scholarships were awarded by numerous business groups across Intel including Movidius, Manufacturing & Product Engineering and Intel Shannon. For the first time, this year a ‘Women in Construction’ scholarship was specifically included and was awarded by the Fab Construction Enterprise Team. This was also the first year that scholarships have been awarded by the Corporate Services group at Intel Ireland.

A total of 9 new Women in Technology scholars were selected as follows;

Name Academic Institution Hometown
Saoirse Ward Physics and Astrophysics
Maynooth University
Swinford, Co. Mayo
Prabhjot Kaur Computer Engineering
Trinity College Dublin
Brunswick Street, Dublin
Darerca Kane Applied Physics and Instrumentation
Cork Institute of Technology
Leeane, Co. Galway
Eimear McDonnell Environmental Health and Safety
National University of Ireland, Galway
Westport, Co.Mayo
Mariia Skyba Computer Science and Software Engineering
Maynooth University
Rosebrien Road, Co. Limerick
Heejin Yoon Computer Science
TU Dublin
Parkwest, Dublin


Sarah Caffrey Quantity Surveying and Construction Economic
TU Dublin
Naas, Co. Kildare
Emily Metadjer Computer Science and Information Technology
National University of Ireland, Galway
Shrule, Co. Mayo
Annie Reeves Mobile Communication & Internet Security
University of Limerick
Mountshannon, Co. Clare


Tim Hannon, Brian Mortimer and Michael Kane

This new cohort of scholars join our wider scholar network which includes those who are still active scholars as they continue to pursue their studies, and those who have gone on to become alumni of the program. The wider scholarship network includes additional universities such as Dublin City University, University College Dublin and University College Cork.

Since the Intel Women in Technology scholarship program began, it has supported 129 students and a total of €1,675,000 has been invested in the initiative to date.

In addition to the Women in Technology scholarships, Intel Shannon presented Paul Whelan Memorial Scholarships which were provided to a number of students studying technology and engineering courses at the University of Limerick. This scholarship is awarded in memory of one of our employees, Paul Whelan. It endeavours to help outstanding students throughout their college course through internships and monetary support. This year Intel Shannon awarded 3 students with this prestigious award;

Name Academic Institution Hometown
Michael T Keane Electronic and Computer Engineering
University of Limerick
Adare, Co. Limerick
Brian Mortimer


Electronic and Computer Engineering
University of Limerick
Westport, Co. Mayo
Tim Hannon Computer Science
University of Limerick
Ennis, Co. Clare


The scholars were presented with their awards at a virtual ceremony that was hosted by Intel just before Christmas. Speaking at the ceremony, Director of Public Affairs at Intel Ireland, Hugh Hardiman, said; “At Intel we have a strong commitment to diversity and inclusion and as part of that commitment, we are delighted to have the opportunity to encourage more young men and women to pursue careers in science and technology. We hope that the program will provide practical supports to the students as they work through what is a particularly challenging time”.

Congratulations to all of our Women in Technology and Paul Whelan scholarship recipients.



Additional information about Intel is available at:

Web – |  Twitter – @Intel_IRL  |  Facebook – Intel Ireland

Media contact: Sarah Sexton |  | + 353 1 606 8537 

About Intel

Intel (Nasdaq: INTC) is an industry leader, creating world-changing technology that enables global progress and enriches lives. Inspired by Moore’s Law, we continuously work to advance the design and manufacturing of semiconductors to help address our customers’ greatest challenges. By embedding intelligence in the cloud, network, edge and every kind of computing device, we unleash the potential of data to transform business and society for the better. To learn more about Intel’s innovations, go to and

© Intel Corporation. Intel, the Intel logo and other Intel marks are trademarks of Intel Corporation or its subsidiaries. Other names and brands may be claimed as the property of others.